Beastie Boys Video Anthology

The Criterion Collection

Beastie Boys Video Anthology

The Beastie Boys are among the most influential groups of the last two decades. As their music has opened hip-hop to a wider audience and changed the parameters of its sound, their ambitious music videos have carried the medium to new levels of artistic expression. This groundbreaking two-disc anthology showcases the vast potential of DVD technology, with most of the eighteen videos containing alternate visual angles and multiple audio tracks. There are hundreds of possible image and sound combinations, including new surround mixes, a cappella versions, instrumentals, and more than 40 remixes (by such artists as Moby, Fatboy Slim and the Prunes), including many new remixes created exclusively for this release. Loaded with never-before-seen footage and unreleased music tracks, this special edition also contains a trove of rare still photos and exclusive audio commentary by the band and the video directors. And the coup de grâce; the world-premiere director's cut of Nathanial Hornblower's "Intergalactic" spin-off "The Robot vs. the Octopus Monster Saga."


  • Various
  • United States
  • 2000
  • minutes
  • Color
  • 1.33:1
  • English
  • Spine #100



  • Eighteen videos: "Intergalactic," "Shake Your Rump," "Gratitude," "Something’s Got to Give," "Sure Shot," "Hey Ladies," "Looking Down the Barrel of a Gun," "Body Movin’," "So What’Cha Want," "Sabotage," "Shadrach," "Three MCs and One DJ," "Ricky’s Theme," "Pass the Mic," "Holy Snappers," "Root Down," "Netty’s Girl," and "Alive."
  • Over 100 video angles and audio tracks switchable at any time during playback.
  • More than forty remixes by Beastie Boys, Bentley Rhythm Ace, Fred C., Mario Caldato, Joey Chavez, Colleone & Webb, Count Bass D, DJ Cheapshot, Dj J-Rocc & Dj Truly OdD, DJ Moe Love, DJ Strictnine and Paranorm, Dub Hackers, Egon & Jon Doe, Evidence, Fatboy Slim, Kut Masta Kurt, Large Professor, Latch Brothers, Madlib, Micky Finn & Special K, Moby, Mum’s the word, Mike Nardone, DJPaul Nice, OD, Peanut Butter Wolf, Shawn J. Period & Wizdom Life, Prince Paul, Prisoners of Technology, Prunes, J Rawls, Sam Sever & Johnathan Hoffman, Soul Assassins, and T- Ray, including many new remixes created exclusively for this release.
  • Audio commentary by the band and the video directors, including Adam Bernstein, Evan Bernard, Tamra Davis, Spike Jonze, Ari Marcropoulos, and David Perez.
  • The world-premiere director’s cut of Nathanial Hornblower’s “Intergalactic” spin-off “The Robot vs. the Octopus Monster Saga.”
  • Interview with the cast of “Sabotage”
  • Still photographs
  • Storyboards
  • Special collectible poster
  • New 5.1 surround-sound mixes
  • A cappella versions
  • Optional English subtitles
  • Optimal image quality: RSDL dual-layer edition

New cover by Ha Cam Ly